Fig And Blue Cheese Shortbread Cookies

img_1351Look what I got in my stocking this Christmas:

FIG AND BLUE CHEESE SHORTBREAD COOKIES!

Okay, I know that these might seem a little weird but, lately I’ve started liking blue cheese (I prefer to call it “stinky cheese”) after trying it a few times on the charcuterie boards that Terry and I order at The Sanctuary when we go to play a few rounds of Exploding Kittens on the weekends.

But blue cheese…in cookies?! 

C’mon now.

Let’s get serious.

These cookies were from a new shop here in Ridgeway called “The Kitchen” where Terry gets a lot of his “Pay Day Friday Sandwiches”.  They have all types of yummy fresh baked breads too, and desserts and, oh, oh, they even brewer’s taffy!  So I’m pretty sure this place is about as close to heaven as we’re going to get in our little town.

The cookies though are made by Provisions Food Co. which is another local Niagara area business.  Maybe Santa, err Mommy and Terry (yes, this is the year that Santa died) wanted to keep all our Christmas treats local which is a good thing.  But while I like blue cheese, these were kinda strong…kind of like “Cheezit’s” actually but, well, stronger.  Anyway, we had them this afternoon as part of our own little charcuterie for lunch with some slices of apple and little piece of leftover cheesecake.

And how can that be a bad thing?

Leave a comment